Cat Insurance Cost Per Month
Understand a historical monthly cat premium benchmark, payment fees and the claim costs that a monthly price leaves out.
What matters on this page
Use these checkpoints to frame the literal question before reading the full guide.
Ask three questions: is the figure an old market average or your own offer, does it include illness protection, and are monthly-payment fees included? NAPHIA reported a US cat accident-and-illness average of $32.21 a month for 2024. That is historical context, not a current personalized premium.
The sections below show how to verify the answer and what can change it.
A monthly number needs a date and a denominator
NAPHIA’s April 22, 2025 announcement gives $386.47 per year and $32.21 per month for US cats with accident-and-illness insurance in 2024. It calls this an average, not a median. The announcement does not give a cat-specific sample count or the distribution of ages, breeds, locations, deductibles, reimbursements and limits behind this figure. It is an industry aggregate rather than a matched quote for one cat.
What the published benchmark can establish
| Quote inputs | Monthly premium | Annual premium | Deductible | Reimbursement | Limit | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US cat accident-and-illness aggregate; individual inputs unavailable | $32.21 reported | $386.47 reported | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 2024 experience; published 2025-04-22 |
Multiplying the rounded monthly figure by twelve gives $386.52. This arithmetic differs by five cents from the reported annual figure because the figures are rounded; it does not prove an installment fee. Quote capture dates, policy payment schedules and any fees are unknown. No claim is made that this is the latest available market report.
Turn a quote into a payment calendar
For a real offer, write down the first payment, subsequent installments, explicit billing charges and total annual commitment. A quoted monthly equivalent may be an annual premium divided by twelve rather than a bill the insurer will actually collect each month. Renewal prices also need their own dated comparison.
Change one setting without disguising the comparison
| Test | Hold fixed | What to record |
|---|---|---|
| Deductible experiment | Same cat, address, date, reimbursement and limit | Two actual premiums; no measured effect is available here |
| Payment-method experiment | Exactly the same coverage selections | Annual payment versus installments and disclosed fees |
| Coverage experiment | Same pet and address | Flag illness coverage or wellness changes; this is not an equivalent product |
Deductible experiment
Payment-method experiment
Coverage experiment
Ready to check current rates?
Keep policy terms, deductible, reimbursement and limits beside the quote so the comparison stays consistent.
A lower installment is only one part of the budget
Wholly hypothetical: a cat has a $1,000 eligible bill, a $250 remaining annual deductible and 80% reimbursement applied after the deductible. The payment is $600 and the owner retains $400, before premiums. Reducing only the hypothetical deductible to $100 raises the payment to $720, a $120 difference. This isolates claim arithmetic, not a measured premium effect or an insurer’s actual calculation.
Keep the cat-specific comparison usable
Common questions
Is $32.21 what my cat will cost now?
No. It summarizes historical US insured-cat experience, with inputs that are not matched to your cat.
Does annual premium always equal twelve monthly payments?
Not necessarily. Compare the actual schedule and any disclosed installment charges.
Ready to compare with clearer inputs?
Keep the policy terms beside the price, then continue to rates when the comparison is clear.